Shortlist announced for the 2019 Left Bank Leeds Art Prize

From a record 222 applications for this year’s Left Bank Leeds Art Prize, we’ve chosen 38 artists to exhibit and selected five exceptional entrants for the £500 prize, who will each be featured by The State of the Arts.

Artists and collectives were invited, via an open call out, to submit work that related to this year’s theme of ‘connection’ in any medium they chose. Our beautiful building will provide a unique backdrop for the resulting exhibition of around 120 pieces, spanning painting, sculpture, digital art, performance pieces, installations and sound pieces.

The winner of the £500 prize will be decided at the exhibition opening event on 17 July, 6-8pm. Come along to explore the exhibition and cast your vote for one of the five shortlisted artists until 7.30pm, after which the winner will be announced.

Spaces at the opening event can be secured here and donations are welcome. The exhibition runs at Left Bank Leeds from 17-20 July, between 10am and 5pm.

The shortlisted artists are:

Katy Bentham / @katy_bentham

Arit Emmanuela Etukudo / @arit_emmanuela

Sarah Louise Hawkins / @sarahlouise_hawkins

David Sowerby / @davidsworldtoday

Leon G Varga / @varga_leon

Our Director, Courtney Spencer, who also curated the exhibition, said: “It’s fantastic to see the Left Bank Leeds Art Prize continue to grow. It’s a great showcase of talent from Leeds, the UK and further afield. This year, we’re collaborating with The State of The Arts, who will be featuring the five shortlisted artists on their website. The £500 prize is awarded to help the winning artist develop their practice. We want to increase awareness of Leeds as a vibrant city with a rich cultural offering, so it’s exciting to see an increase in submissions each year, which includes international artists from across the globe.”

Exhibiting artists include Aamta-Tul Waheed, Alexandra Vainshtein, Amelia Baron, Anna Turner, Arit Emmanuela Etukudo, Cameron Lings, D’arcy Darilmaz, David Sowerby, Daniel Worth, Denise Senneca, Fran Ruane, Gary Crowder, Georgia Jean Smith, Jess Scott, Jessica El Mal and Youcef Hadjazi, Joe Hancock, Jonathan Hooper, Katherine Sullivan, Katie Potton, Katy Bentham, Leon G Varga, Linda Pieters, Liz Hutchinson, LJ Wright, Lydia Hamblet, Megan Needham, Natalie Wardle, Phill Hopkins, Sam Sherborne, Samantha Jagger, Sarah Louise Hawkins, Simon Dobbs, Sonia Moran, Steve Oliver, Susan Wright, Toby Wiltshire, Trinidad Davanzo and Yasmine Robinson.